Living by Faith

Habakkuk 2:4 See, he is puffed up; his desires are not upright – but the righteous will live by his faith. (NIV)

Behold, his soul which is lifted up is not upright in him: but the just shall live by his faith. (KJV)

Matthew 17:20 – 21 (also covered in Mark 11:22, Luke 7:6)  Because of your unbelief: for verily I say unto you, If ye have faith as a grain of mustard seed, ye shall say unto this mountain, remove hence to yonder and it shall remove; and nothing shall be impossible unto you.  Howbeit, this kind goeth not out but by prayer and fasting. (KJV)

Note: (NIV has no verse 21 which is the statement about fasting.)

Matthew 21:21-22 Jesus answered and said unto them, Verily I say unto you, If ye have faith, and doubt not, ye shall not only do this which is done to the fig tree, but also if ye shall say unto this mountain, Be thou removed, and be thou cast into the sea; it shall be done.  And all things, whatsoever ye shall ask in prayer, believing, ye shall receive.

Mark 4:30-32 Again he said, what shall we say the Kingdom of God is like, or what parable shall we use to describe it, it is like a mustard seed, which is the smallest seed you plant in the ground, yet when planted, it grows and becomes the largest of all garden plants, with such big branches, that the birds of the air, can perch in its shade.

IMG_3243
You can imagine that a scene like this may have been what the Israelites saw when they were standing at the edge of the Red Sea before Mose’s with God’s power parted it for them to cross.  

Read the story of Mose’s (Exodus 14:13-31) parting the Red Sea using God’s power, through his faithfulness.  God told Moses to part the Red Sea, and to lead the people through it. Through an act of Living Faith and trust in the Lord, Moses demonstrated God’s glory to his people.  This is also an active example of the above verses regarding moving mountains.

Sometimes, living by faith can be difficult, but at those times you just need to remember that to live by your faith and trust God, or to not live by your faith and not trust God is always a decision that you make….it is not a feeling that you have!  If you have trouble believing then you can always pray to God for him to help you with your unbelief. (Mark 9:24)

One thought on “Living by Faith

  1. Yes Mick, this one is very good. It is so near and dear to my heart. I can see myself at Knott’s Berry Farm on my lunch break August 17, 1962. That was the day I bought my little jug of mustard seeds. I put it on and walking back to the ticket box I held it in my hand and ask that Robbie would ask me to marry him. I ask that with every fiber of my body. That night my Robbie came to the Berry Farm after hitch hacking up from San Deigo to spend just 2 days with me and having to go back on Sunday.His friend Denny, Jan’s hubby was with him. Daddy took Denny to Jan’s house in Whittier. We were in the back seat when my Robbie slipped a ring on my finger. So for those who do not have the faith of the mustard seed I feel sorry for them. It sure worked for me, and has many times since. Faith is the greatest gift of, without if we have nothing, it will get you through your heart aches and everything else if we just let it. I’m not to say we don’t hurt at times but just believe and I’ll all work out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

