God’s Word is Powerful

IMG_5331Deuteronomy 8:3 He humbled you, causing you to hunger and then feeding you with manna, which neither you nor your fathers had known, to teach you that man does not live on bread alone but on every word that comes from the mouth of the Lord.

Read: Psalm 119:9, 11, 105, Isaiah 55:10-11, 2Samuel 22:31, Proverbs 12:25, 25:11, John 1:1-5, 14.

Read Matthew 4:1-4.  This is Jesus answer to the first temptation.

Psalm 119:9-11  

How can a young person stay on the path of purity?
    By living according to your word.
10 I seek you with all my heart;
    do not let me stray from your commands.
11 I have hidden your word in my heart
    that I might not sin against you.

Psalm 119:105

105 Your word is a lamp for my feet,

 a light on my path.

Isaiah 55:10-11

10 “For as the rain and the snow come down from heaven
    and do not return there but water the earth,
making it bring forth and sprout,
    giving seed to the sower and bread to the eater,
11 so shall my word be that goes out from my mouth;
    it shall not return to me empty,
but it shall accomplish that which I purpose,
    and shall succeed in the thing for which I sent it.

2 Samuel 22:31

31 “As for God, his way is perfect:
    The Lord’s word is flawless;
    he shields all who take refuge in him.

Proverbs 12:25

Anxiety weighs down the heart, but a kind word cheers it up. 
Proverbs 25:11
Like apples of gold in settings of silver is a ruling rightly given.
John 1:1-5 

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.He was with God in the beginning. Through him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made. In him was life, and that life was the light of all mankind. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome[a] it.

John 1:14  

14 The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us. We have seen his glory, the glory of the one and only Son, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth.

Matthew 4:1-4
 

Then Jesus was led by the Spirit into the wilderness to be tempted[a] by the devil. After fasting forty days and forty nights, he was hungry. The tempter came to him and said, “If you are the Son of God, tell these stones to become bread.”

Jesus answered, “It is written: ‘Man shall not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.’[b]

(Verses taken from Bible Gateway.com and Bible hub.com and are the NIV version of the Bible)
These are just a few verses in the Bible that tells us about the value of God’s word in our lives, and how powerful it is.  When reading the Bible it is always comforting to keep in mind that there is a word there for everyone.
One of the other things to keep in mind is that John 1:14 tells us that The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us.   That Word that became flesh was the person of Jesus Christ. Jesus is described as God’s Word becoming flesh, if that doesn’t tell us clearly how powerful the Word of God is, then I don’t know what does.  Yet that very Word of God laid down his life for us, though he had all the power of God behind him.  His life was voluntarily laid down for us.  I find it to be a very amazing thing that God loves us so much, no matter how many times I contemplate it…it is always very awesome!  Wouldn’t it be amazing if we all loved each other even a fraction as much as God loves us.   The only way that is possible is if we all live our lives with God’s powerful Word written on our hearts…living in obedience to Him…that is what the Kingdom of God is about.  We need to realize the power of God’s Word and take it into our hearts and lives, seriously.  Not just in a lukewarm way.
John 10:18 No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down and authority to take it up again. This command I received from my Father.”
Matthew 26:53 Do you think I cannot call on my Father, and he will at once put at my disposal more than twelve legions of angels?

Leave a Reply

